Principal Investigator
Joseph B. Herzog, PhD
Assistant Professor
R.B. Annis School of Engineering
University of Indianapolis

Postdoctoral, Rice University
PhD, University of Notre Dame
MS, University of Notre Dame
BS, Louisiana State University
Full Bio

Email: herzogjb
Current Students

Joan Matutes
Univerity of Indianapolis (undergraduate)
Major: Mechanical Engineering
joined Spring 2021

Herzog Lab Alumni

University of Indianapolis:

Bachelors of Science (BS):

University of Arkansas:

Philosophiae Doctor (PhD):
Bachelors of Science (BS):
  • Avery Hill, BS 2016
    • joined Herzog Lab as undergraduate in Fall 2013
    • Started the Navy Nuclear Propulsion Officer Candidate (NUPOC) program

  • Gabrielle Abraham, BS 2016
    • Recieved the NSF GRFP Fellowship
    • joined Herzog Lab as undergraduate in Fall 2013
    • Graduate school at UC-Santa Barbara

  • Cameron Saylor, BS 2015
    • joined Herzog Lab as undergraduate in Fall of 2013
    • Graduate school at UC-Davis

  • Jonathan Mishler, BS 2015
    • joined Herzog Lab as undergraduate in Fall of 2013
    • Postbaccalaureate with the National Institute of Health (NIH), 2015-2016
    • Graduate school at University of Washington in the Dept. of Bioengineering

Previous Group Members
  • Miles Furr, Undergraduate member from 2018 - 2020. Awarded 2019 Naval Research Enterprise Internship Program (NREIP).

  • Chris M Klenke, Summer 2018 Micro-EP NSF-REU-undergraduate - As of Fall 2018, senior at Missouri State University.

  • Oluwatobi "Tobi" Olorunsola
    • Herzog Group member from Jan - Aug 2018
    • microEP Graduate Student
    • Joined with Shui-Qing (Fisher) Yu (Electrical Engineering) at the University of Arkansas in Fall 2018.

  • Zach Brawley
    • officially joined group: Fall 2017
    • previously Summer 2016 Physics NSF-REU
    • microEP Graduate Student
    • Summer 2018: joined the Dept. of Materials Science & Engineering at Texas A&M.

  • Pijush Ghosh, MS 2016
    • joined Herzog Lab in Spring 2015
    • Physics Graduate Student
    • now with Dr. Morgan Ware in EE

  • Saeed Sarollahi, MS
    • joined Herzog Lab in Fall 2014
    • microEP Graduate Student
    • now with Dr. Morgan Ware in EE

  • Faezeh Tork Ladani, Herzog Lab member in 2018 (Postdoc).

  • Madison Whitby, Joined Herzog Lab in August 2016. Mechanical Engineering undergraduate major.

  • Chandler Bernard, Summer 2016 Micro-EP NSF-REU-undergraduate - Currently (Fall 2016) senior at Troy University

  • Grant Abbey

  • Michael Baltz, undergrad, Joined Lab Spring 2015. Received BS in 2016

  • Eric Novak, NSF-REU-undergraduate (Summer 2014) - now at Oak Ridge National Laboratory

  • Paul Nguyen, undergraduate (2014) - now with Accu-Machining, Inc.

How to join my Research Group - Undergraduate Students

As of Semester I 2021-2022 - I am open to 1 more undergraduate research student.

University of Indianapolis undergraduates - Undergraduate students on campus who are interested in doing research with me should contact me (especially Honors students, but you do not need to be an honors student to join my group). Preference is given to students in the Honors College. See How to join the Honors College. Undergraduates are strongly encouraged to apply for research support:

R.B. Annis School of Engineering  |  1400 E. Hanna Avenue  |  MH 206  |  Indianapolis, IN 46227
Phone: 317-788-3264  |  Contact Us